Published!

It’s time to reveal the Sooper Seekrit Project that I’ve been hinting at for, oh, close to a year now. May I present my very first professional design:

Chawton Mittens

Chawton Mittens

Chawton Mittens -- photo courtesy of Interweave

The mittens are included in the brand new Interweave publication, Jane Austen Knits.

Pre-order (hard copies will be available at your LYS in early November) / Digital edition

Ravelry pattern page

Jane Austen Knits

Jane Austen Knits cover -- image courtesy of Interweave

From the magazine:

These colorwork mittens feature cameos—those most classic Regency silhouettes—of a young lady and her fine gentleman gazing at each other. The silhouettes are framed with cabled ovals, worked with the contrasting color against the main/background color. The cables give an unexpected hint of texture to the stockinette-stitch mittens and add a little extra challenge for the knitter. In the background are diamond and stripe patterns inspired by historical wallpaper patterns. A deep cuff of twisted-stitch ribbing keeps the mittens snug and practical.

Chawton Mittens

Cameos

As soon as I saw that the digital edition was available yesterday, I had to (of course!) go and download it. And let me just say (though I may be a little biased): it’s BEAUTIFUL. The patterns are gorgeous, the photography is the perfect balance of lush and delicate, the articles are fascinating, and all the little details (like the borders on the pages, the ‘dry goods’ title on the shopping section, etc.) are just delightful.

There are four stories’ worth of patterns: Country, Garden, Manor, and Town. Each has between 7-10 patterns, which include the following:

  • 10 women’s sweaters (ranging from a cropped vest, through shrugs and cardigans and pullovers, to full jackets)
  • 2 men’s sweaters (a vest and a cabled pullover)
  • 5 mittens (including mine!) and 1 muff
  • 3 socks and 1 pair of slippers
  • 6 scarves/shawls (the Theme and Variations scarf patterns were previously published in Spin-Off)
  • 3 capes (this is a period-inspired publication, after all!)
  • 3 bags
  • 1 apron
  • 1 tea cosy

___________ . _ . __________

I’ll be posting more later about the whole experience of publication, the design process for my mittens, and some ideas on how to customize the mittens to make them your own. For now, I just want to shout to the rooftops: my mittens are PUBLISHED!

8 Comments

Filed under Design

8 responses to “Published!

  1. I saw all the designs coming up on the Ravelry Designers group and had to buy the downloadable one immediately. So far it’s just being drooled over, but there will be knitting once I’m down by a couple of WIP’s

    • Annie Bee

      There are some really lovely patterns, eh? I’m so thrilled to be in such exalted company… And yes, I have to decide what to knit first, too!

  2. Lynne

    Congrats, Anne – brilliant pattern. Enjoy and be proud. 🙂

    • Annie Bee

      Thanks, Lynne! Excited to join the ranks of the knitters that SWK has enabled into the world of published design. 🙂

  3. I just love your design. Congratulations!

    • Annie Bee

      Thank you! It’s very exciting to be getting feedback from folks I’ve never met — welcome to my blog!