Introducing: ColourRIOT!

I’ve had such a positive response to my last two posts about colour theory that I started thinking about how to extend the fun. I asked one friend, a graphic designer, if she’d be interested in doing a guest post; she agreed to, and then suggested that I should have a series of guest posts on the topic of colour. I thought, sure, but who’s going to want to post on my little blog? But I put the question out on Twitter, and I have been absolutely floored by the resulting interest.

colour RIOT

ColourRIOT

So, without further ado, I bring you: ColourRIOT, a series of guest posts all about colour. Some will be about colour theory, some about colour knitting technique, some about dyeing colourful yarns, some about colour inspiration, and some about plain old LOVE of colour.

And let me extend the invitation to you, my dear readers! Do YOU have something to say about colour? Knitting with it? Living with it? Wearing it? Making it? Get in touch with me through the blog or email me at anniebeeknits at gmail dot com.

I can’t wait to share the first posts in this series with you. Stay tuned!

8 Comments

Filed under ColourRIOT, Meta

8 responses to “Introducing: ColourRIOT!

  1. geebeew

    I LOVE IT! Great logo, great concept. Now I’d better get writing my contribution! 🙂

    • Annie Bee

      You had better! Thought you’d enjoy the bright, non-grey, banner. Your great blog graphics inspire me!

  2. Nothing to contribute, but I’m hoping you get a guest post on spinning with colour 🙂

    • Annie Bee

      There’s lots to be said on that topic! What aspects are you thinking about? How to split up colour, like for fractal spinning?

      • yes, yes there is. I was thinking more on how to choose those multi-hued batts. For example, the silk I just spun went from bright fibre to more muted colour when spun and plied. http://mandyzmoon.blogspot.ca/

      • Annie Bee

        That’s an interesting phenomenon, eh? In my (limited) experience that’s quite common. I think it has to do with the way the fibres reflect light when they’re jumbled up versus when they’re smoothed out and parallel. I’m not sure if spinning a more worsted style might mitigate it a bit — or if that’s even possible with silk — but I don’t know of any way to avoid it entirely. As I say, though, my experience with spinning is pretty limited!

  3. Pingback: A Colourful Spin-Off? | AnnieBee Knits