Happy 2013!

Happy 2013, everyone! May the new year bring health, happiness, and good cheer to each and every person who reads this.

I’m seeing lots of year-end round-up blog posts out there, and I’m quite in awe of what some folks have accomplished in the last 12 months. New designs, reinventing classics, brilliant techniques and spectacular colours, and just a phenomenal volume of work.

As for me, I thought I’d poke back through my own archives (thanks, Flickr!) and see what I accomplished this past year. Frankly, I’m kind of surprised at how little I made — well, not really surprised, and it’s not really that little, but somehow seeing it all stacked up into one pile makes me feel like I was less than productive.

2012 Projects

2012 in pictures

The astute amongst you will notice that there are several pieces in the collage above that I haven’t even blogged about. Some were gifts (the little Minion and the kitty coat, for example), and some (the Norwegian mittens in the bottom right) were pressed into service too quickly and never had a proper finished photo shoot. I meant to spend part of my holidays photographing and blogging some of those pieces, but the demanding business of Dog Cuddling, Napping, and Eating Delicious Things took precedence.

And you know what? The only resolution I’m making for 2013 is to lose the guilt about the blogging/knitting/crafting. It’s not a question of my craft mojo having gotten lost, it’s just been a question of time and priorities in other parts of my life.

I’ve got a ton of projects planned — from the shawl that’s currently on the needles (Lichen Mists by Rockandpurl in Willow Street Silk), to the utterly brilliant fingerless mitts designed by my friend Selina (Platypus), to the Ink cardigan I finally settled on using my Shalimar Breathless for, to a Rather Ambitious project incorporating the heirloom wool blanket I inherited. Somewhere in there, I’d like to spin more, and maybe borrow a friend’s rigid heddle loom again to do more weaving. Oh, and a friend wants a Jayne Hat to wear at his thesis defence, and I did promise Mr. Bee that I’d make him a pair of mitts with my dear Erin’s Caaaaarbs pattern from Knitty. Plus there are various designs percolating in the back of my own head, and it would be nice to get them out into the world…

But somewhere in there, I need to spend time with our sweet Nike dog, and, you know, perhaps also with Mr. Bee! Balance is what I need to work on, not upping my level of production.

_____________________

Meanwhile, to see someone who has NO trouble with churning out awesome projects in both the crafting and blogging spheres, please go visit my sister Gillian over at Crafting a Rainbow to see a really lovely bunch of round-up and goal-setting posts. I happen to be wearing one of her hand-sewn tops today, and am seriously enjoying watching her creations slowly take over my closet. I can’t knit fast enough to create an entire wardrobe for myself, but Gillian’s sewing skill and ambition have really taken off in the last year, and suddenly she has not only created a whole wardrobe for herself, she has also been extremely generous in sewing for others! Inspiring stuff.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Knitting for Gifts, Knitting for Me, Meta, Weaving

3 responses to “Happy 2013!

  1. Aww, thanks, dear! I’m really glad you actually wear what I make you – I would completely understand if it ended up hidden in a drawer somewhere! 😛 Your knitting is always amazing, and I love your weaving too… Did you ever look at Craftsy on the tablet? Because they have weaving courses too!

    • Annie Bee

      I happen to be wearing another one of your creations today — the bird shirt! It’s adorable, and fits very well — why would I want to hide that in the closet?

      I haven’t looked at Craftsy on the playbook yet, but thanks for the reminder!

  2. Hi Annie Bee!
    You have amazing talent & a beautiful blog.
    I came across your blog & would love to email you on a project I am working on called “Warm the Heart”. You can read more here: http://lifeofksong.com/2013/01/21/warm-the-heart-project/

    thanks!