Random Act of Kindness Day… in cookie form!

It’s Random Act of Kindness Day here in Kitchener-Waterloo (and elsewhere). I brought treats to my coworkers this morning, and lunch to the ladies at my LYS. I can’t bring goodies to all of my (oh so many) readers, though, so I offer this recipe for my grandmother’s chocolate chip raisin cookies so you can make your own.

There’s a story behind this particular recipe. See, my husband and I met online, during a time when I had cataracts in both eyes and he had mono. On our first date, he drove up to meet me at my parents’ house, where I was living, and we had tea and a fresh batch of these cookies before he needed to take a nap on the couch. (Not knowing what first-date etiquette might be for when one’s date has nodded off for a 2-hour nap, I went into the kitchen to muffins and wash dishes until he woke up.) When he woke up, we had dinner with my mother (whooo! stir fry! rice!) and then he drove home. (Yes, sizzling romance, I know.)

Anyway, it’s nine years this month since I baked him these cookies, and we celebrated our sixth wedding anniversary in August. The cookies have therefore become known as Man-Catching Cookies. (We’re living proof that they can work – but YMMV.)

Without further ado…

Man-Catching Cookies

Chocolate Chip Raisin Cookies (AKA Man-Catching Cookies)

Note: These are very nice without the raisins, too. In fact, I think the Infamous Man-Catching Batch may have been sans raisins.

1 c. butter
¾ c. white sugar
¾ c. brown sugar

Mix until smooth, then add:

2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. salt
2 ¼ c. all-purpose flour

Beat well, and set aside for a moment. Stir together the following, then add to batter:

1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. hot water

Add:

2 c. chocolate chips
nuts/raisins, according to taste

Bake at 375F on greased cookie sheets.

Drop by spoonfuls on sheets. Flatten with wet fingers to 1 cm thick.

Bake 10-12 minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Random Act of Kindness Day… in cookie form!

  1. Canladdie

    WANT!!!

    • Annie Bee

      Right, I forgot the traditional final step for any family recipe, eh Dad? “Call Mark for taste-testing assistance.”

  2. My family was tired of the same ol’ chocolate chip cookies so I made a chunky new treat. I made the chocolate chip cookies same as always( from scratch) then I added half a cup of craisins and half a cup of choped walnuts. They cooked up so nicely and are quite filling:)