Knitters’ Fair – or Pandemonium, with Added Fibre

Why won’t I be at the KNITcamBRIDGE launch on Sept. 11? I’ll be a little busy elsewhere…

Saturday is also the 18th Waterloo County Knitters’ Fair, held by the Kitchener-Waterloo Knitters’ Guild. Since I’m the Guild president this year, I get the supreme honour of opening the doors (9:30 AM!) and introducing the guest speakers at the on-site seminars. (I have some less glamourous tasks too, lest you worry I’m getting a swelled head. I hand-cut 2000 attendee surveys last weekend, for example. 2000. I hope that’s enough.)

This is the absolute high point of the knitting calendar, as far as I’m concerned.

Knitters' Fair 2009: what a haul!
A taste of my 2009 Knitters’ Fair haul, to whet the appetite

Who: More than 70 vendors, an army of volunteers, and probably about 2000 shoppers.

What: Two (2) ballrooms jam-packed with yarn and fibre, and knitting-related books, tools, and accessories. Door prizes, a fashion show, free seminars, kids’ activities, and a Guild-run table featuring computers on which you can access Ravelry to check out yarn requirements for your favourite patterns. And there’s yarn. Did I mention the yarn?

When: Saturday, September 11, 2010, 9:30 AM-4:30 PM

Where: Bingemans, Kitchener, ON

How: Admission is $5 at the door. Most vendors accept credit cards; some also take debit. There is an ATM onsite, although it often ends up overwhelmed by the yarn fumes and out of cash, so it’s wise to bring cash when you come. Also, wear comfy walking shoes.

Why: Did I mention the yarn? The two ballrooms of it?

anne on train
If you’re coming to the Fair, please do come up and introduce yourself! I’ll be the one that looks like this, only far more frazzled.
Tokorozawa Shawl
Or, realistically, since we’re talking about knitters, you can identify me by my shawl.

See you at the Fair!

3 Comments

Filed under Events

3 responses to “Knitters’ Fair – or Pandemonium, with Added Fibre

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Knitters’ Fair – or Pandemonium, with Added Fibre « AnnieBee Knits -- Topsy.com

  2. Love (eleventy million)!

    See you tonight for set-up…I’ll be the braindead zombie who can’t stand up, because apparently she’s stopped sleeping. Ugh.

  3. Guild President! Cool! Love the shawl, and I hope you had a wonderful time!