KNITcamBRIDGE

There’s a HUGE amount of fibre-y goodness going on in this area on Saturday. A complete embarrassment of riches — and almost a tragic overabundance of fibre-related stuff to do, since I can technically only be in one place at once, so I don’t get to attend it all.

One of the big events that’s coming up is the official launch of the KNITcamBRIDGE project just down the road in Cambridge, Ontario. I won’t be there, but some of my knitting will!

KNITcamBRIDGE progress Sept. 9

Progress on the bridge as of September 9. Photo courtesy of CanLaddie on Flickr.

KNITcamBRIDGE is the brainchild of Sue Sturdy, a fibre artist who is the Artist in Residence at the Cambridge Centre for the Arts this year. She has been receiving donations of knit and crochet pieces from around the world for months now, and has a group of volunteers now helping her fasten those pieces to the bridge in downtown Galt (one of the three villages that merged to become Cambridge).

KNITcamBRIDGE progress Sept. 9

Sue pauses from her bridge-wrapping for a moment. Photo courtesy of CanLaddie on Flickr.

Sue approached the Knitters’ Guild to encourage us to donate either purpose-knit pieces or repurposable scraps of knitting. (Be honest: who hasn’t started an afghan project, only to get distracted and set it aside unfinished?)

I’ve been terribly disorganized about getting anything down to her. In my defense, Cambridge is about half an hour from where I live, and I don’t drive. Anyway, I finally rounded up a contribution this week, gathered up donations from a few other Waterloo-ians, and made it down to Cambridge on Tuesday evening. I dropped the bags of pieces off at the Centre for the Arts, and was planning on heading straight back home, but the lady at the desk insisted that Mr. Bee and I go and see the bridge-in-progress down the road.

KNITcamBRIDGE in progress

Progress as of September 7.

I’m really glad she did.

It’s SPECTACULAR.

Sue and her team of volunteers are using zip ties to secure the panels to the bridge, having previously seamed many of the pieces by hand into strips of appropriate sizes. The result is chaotic, colourful, and just plain FUN. You can’t help but feel a bit giddy when you consider all of the hours of work in EACH of the many, many pieces involved, let alone the combined total. There’s a lot of garter stitch there (including mine!) but there’s also intricate cables and even some lace. Some of the pieces are big enough that they could almost function as runner-carpets in my hallway. Others would be generous on my queen-sized bed. In between, there are lots that are basically scarves, and others that are afghan blocks that never quite grew up into afghans.

After the project wraps up, the volunteers will cut the panels off the bridge, clean them all, undo the seams, and then the pieces will be divided up for charity. Some will be sold as scarves at a fundraiser for the Centre for the Arts, while others will be donated to underhoused people or animals needing warmth, depending on the size and condition of each piece.

KNITcamBRIDGE in progress

September 7. The handrails on either side of the arches will also be completely covered with knits.

I’m sorry I won’t be there for the launch, but I’m really glad I got to see part of the installation phase. It’s a pretty phenomenal feeling to be a small piece of such a large community project!

Comments Off on KNITcamBRIDGE

Filed under Events

Comments are closed.