1000 Fabulous Knit Hats

I got the following message in my Ravelry mailbox today, and wanted to help get the word out. Annie Modesitt (Modeknit on Ravelry, @modeknit on Twitter, or http://www.modeknit.com/) is working on a book featuring, well, 1000 Fabulous Knit Hats. She’s looking for images of hats that people have knit — if they’re your own design, you are eligible for prizes; if they’re from published patterns, you can’t win the prizes but you can absolutely still get published. Oh, and crocheters? (Catt, I’m looking at you!) Your hat pictures are welcome too.

Hey There!

We’ve friended each other on Ravelry, so I’m writing to ask if you’d be interested in being part of a rather large book project I’ve taken on.

I’m compiling 1,000 images of fabulous knit hats for Rockport Publishing book, 1000 Fabulous Knit Hats. (It almost writes itself…)

Anyway, if you have any interest in submitting an image (or several) of a great knit or crocheted had you’ve made, I’d LOVE to see it!

The submission process is pretty simple, it’s explained in detail at the 1,000 Fabulous Knit Hats website – http://1000fabulousknithats.com. I’m also happy to answer any questions pertaining to this project at annie@1000fabulousknithats.com (but read the info on the website first – that may answer your questions!)

Original hat designs are eligible for cash prizes, non-original (based on an existing pattern) are just eligible for some bragging rights. I’m hoping the book will have the feeling of an “idea book” full of inspiring images of great hats.

Thanks so much for considering this – I really appreciate it! The deadline is stupid soon (I took this project on in mid-stride) but I think I can get extensions for folks who need a little extra time to upload their photos.

Remember – I don’t want the HATS, just the images of hats!

Thanks so much,

Annie Modesitt
Compiler In Chief
1000 Fabulous Knit Hats

I submitted pictures of three hats back when Annie first announced the project on her blog and her twitter feed. I gather she’s still quite short of submissions, so I’ve promised her a few more hat pics of my own, and I wanted to put the word out to the handful of you who might read this, too. It sounds like such a neat project — and hey, getting your knitting pics published? Never a bad thing.

Here's my favourite fabulous knit hat!

Here's my favourite fabulous knit hat!

4 Comments

Filed under Events, Meta

4 responses to “1000 Fabulous Knit Hats

  1. Suzanne

    Hey, do you think any of these would be suitable?

    Joshua Models the Jacquard Hat

    I’m never good at this sort of decision…

    • Annie Bee

      You’ve got some AWESOME shots there, Suzanne! I love the ones of J modeling the colourwork hat – what a ham that kid is. But yes, any and all of those hats are absolutely worth submitting!

  2. Mark Whitcombe

    I quite like that hat too! (I have other pics of it if you wish …) xoxox

    • Annie Bee

      Thanks, Dad. I’ve got enough shots of it — and besides, it was in the first batch I submitted. It even counts as an original design, since it was totally improvised…