Selfish December Knitting

To start off, I should say — admit? declare? — that I did NO knitting for Christmas this year. None at all.

We moved to a new house on December 1, and in the midst of all that chaos, knitting was a welcome respite, but not one I got to indulge in very often, or for very long at a stretch. I gave myself a ‘get out of jail free’ card and knit nothing that had a deadline, nothing that had to please anyone but myself. Don’t get me wrong, I love knitting for others, but no matter how generous the intent, I think most knitters are familiar with that eleventh-hour moment when the project’s not turning out quite right, and you want nothing more than to chuck it in the bin and rain curses down on whoever you’re knitting for!

Anyway, in the month of December, I only managed to knit one thing: a hat for myself.

Ripple hat

Ripple hat

It’s the Ripple Hat by Wendy Bernard, done up in bits and pieces of Koigu KPPPM. (Yup, still obsessed with that stuff.) Full details are here. It’s big, slouchy, floppy, and miraculously able to settle on my head without mussing up my (very fine, very prone to mussing) hair.

Ripple hat

Oooh, ripply!

I don’t entirely know how much yarn this took, but suffice to say that it used up LOTS. Probably double what a fitted ribbed beanie/toque would take! But it’s a lovely brainless knit, and it was perfect for my December.

One note about the pattern is that the band is knitted in garter stitch, not ribbing, so it’s prone to stretching out, and not to shrinking back in as much. I resolved that by sewing in a polar fleece lining (like a little wee headband inside the hat), but if I’d been thinking ahead, I probably would have just used ribbing in the first place.

Ripple hat

That's the garter-y band on the left.

6 Comments

Filed under Knitting for Me

6 responses to “Selfish December Knitting

  1. LOL – I very almost left a comment saying, “Oh, my sister knit this EXACT hat, in that EXACT colour!” But then, of course, I realised that you are finally part of my blog roll, and this was indeed your hat! Looks great on you, and I love the texture! :)

  2. Andrea

    I noticed it on Thursday.. it’s B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L!!!

  3. I think you’re onto something with the no christmas gift knitting thing (i may have been cursing on december 23rd) ;)
    That hat looks perfect – can you update us if you do put the fleece band in? It’s something i’ve been wondering about trying myself…